The First Step a.k.a Cooking

I’m so happy to announce that I’ve achieved a milestone in my life.

I actually cooked.

No decent photo because everyone scrambled to get their share! It was that good. Lol jk. Recipe can be found here. It’s really easy to cook, even for a beginner!

I’m becoming increasingly alarmed about not having the sufficient life skills to move to another country. I don’t know how to cook, how to clean the bathroom, how to change a tire… at this rate, I’m going to have to learn things the hard way once I start living on my own. And I’m determined to make things easier for my future self, even if just a little.

And that’s why I’m really proud of myself for cooking this. It’s a step to independence! And since I’ve already taken that proverbial first step, I’m sure that I’ll be more set on following through with my progress.

On the top of my head, here are the things that I should learn before I could even think about living on my own. These aren’t similar to my Silver Year Bucket List, mind you – rather, these are the life skills that I believe should come with my independence.

  1. How to cook at least 10 dishes (and by learn, I mean actually knowing by heart how to whip up these meals). ONE OF THOSE DISHES MUST BE SINIGANG THE BABOY.
  2. How to clean a car
  3. How to change a tire. I’m certain that this’ll be helpful in the future.
  4. How to clean the bathroom. (Pre-requisite: get over my disgust whenever I see grime, or hair clogging the sink, etc.)
  5. How to repair leaks (I can always call a plumber… but learning the basics won’t hurt)
  6. How to deal with emergencies, e.g. how to put out a fire that I accidentally start in the kitchen
  7. How to maintain a garden… okay, this isn’t necessary, but it’ll definitely add harmony to my life.

That’s about all that’s on my list, though I’m certain that there’s more to it than the ones listed!

I think I’m going to celebrate my plans and my future self by cooking another good meal this weekend (which is very similar to what I first cooked). Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

