On a Parent’s Love

1995.jpg

Incredible things are happening to me, and all around me, while I’m here in Auckland. As I learn how to live independently, I also experience the wonders of being far away from the Philippines. Studying, finding and having a part-time job, filling in hours of idleness: experiencing of all of these in a new environment has given me insight about who I am like never before. I have a better understanding of my strengths and weaknesses, and of what I could and should do to improve myself. I better understand the actions that I should take to achieve my long-time goals.

And whenever I’m overwhelmed with these – with the vastness of my life and of the possibilities that have opened up to me – my thoughts always go back to one thing: my parents.

All of this wouldn’t have been possible without the endless support of my parents. They’re the ones who pushed me to go beyond my comfort zone – that is, home – because I know, based from my experiences, that my own inertia wouldn’t even remove me from my bubble. I’ve always been satisfied with what’s comfortable, even if it led to unhappiness. I was never one to take risks, and I know that my parents aren’t, either.

Yet love moves us, sometimes beyond comprehension. My parents took one of the biggest risks that they could take – that is, support their eldest child – their only daughter – to move to a different country for God-knows-how-long, without knowing whether or not she would return or stay. I was reluctant at first, because it never entered my mind to leave. But I realized later on that it would open so many doors for my family and me.

And now, here I am. I’m the happiest that I’ve ever been thus far; I feel like I’m seeing the world in a completely different light. Again, the thought circles back to my mom and dad.

How could a parent’s love be so great that they would give you everything in exchange for nothing? How could they risk everything that they have to give you a better future? Why would they give their whole life for you? It’s a love that’s beyond my comprehension. It overwhelms me. It makes me wonder what I did to deserve such an amazing love.

I know it’s Mother’s Day today, but I want to celebrate both of my parents. Parents deserve to be celebrated by their children every single day. With the new doors that have opened up to me, though, one thing remains constant: that, when I become a parent, I’ll aim to be just like my mom and dad.

Leave a Reply

