Chill Songs from Video Games

One of the main reasons why I wanted to play the piano was because of video games. Level grinding is all the better when you’ve got good music to accompany it, no? The added plus is that you also have an addition to the songs that you play in your head as part if your life’s soundtrack!

Okay, so I never got to learn how to play the piano, but I still want to do it in the near (far?) future. I do have some tracks that I play regularly – songsthat I could see would be great for the instrument. If you want to chill, here are some songs that I recommend:

1. The Gapra Whitewood (Final Fantasy XIII)

Forget about The Sunleth Waterscape – The Gapra Whitewhood is even better. This reminds me of the sun slowly rising amidst the fog of the early morning. You could add some elves in the picture, too, if you want. Anyway, the point is, this is da bomb.

2. Lamb Game between ♂ and ♀ (Catherine)

From the video game Catherine, this song is played in the game’s pub, Stray Sheep. The song reminds me of a cold night wherein you’re just lying on your bed, pensive and melancholic. This isn’t far from an instrumental that you would find in a jazz bar.

3. Zanarkand Ruins (Final Fantasy X-2)

This is the first video game song I played repeatedly and one that started my love for chillhop and electronica. To have it play while Yuna, Riku, and Paine explored the ruins of Zanarkand as fireflies circled the area – man, it was perfect. Props to Final Fantasy for creating the perfect background song for that moment.

Bonus: The Almighty (Persona 4)

OKAY, this isn’t the most chill song of all, but when you get to around 1:21 things get much better. This was probably the only song from the OST that I played over and over. The mix of electronica and rock is undeniably good.

I wrote this post mostly because I couldn’t think of anything else to write, but now I have a bad case of earworm! Aaaahhh! I should probably get back to studying now. Hopefully the music helps!

3 thoughts on “Chill Songs from Video Games

  1. Good post. Zanarkland Ruins is definitely one of the more chill songs I’ve heard in a video game. Oddly enough, the one gaming song that I can have on repeat and just zen out to is ‘Aleph Erupts’ from the Golden Sun OST. XD

    That said, would you like to share your articles in our FB group? We’re a growing community of gaming bloggers and we’re always looking for more writers to share their work and discuss all things gaming. Just search for “Game Bloggers United” on Facebook.

    Like

    1. Hi, Paul! Sorry for the late reply. Of course, I’d love to be part of your FB group! I’ll check that out and contribute whenever I have something gaming-related. 😄

      Like

Leave a Reply

